DANE COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT POLICY STATEMENT DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN/AGREEMENT

The Court views the obligation to pay fines, costs and fees seriously and expects payment of the specified amount no later than the due date(s) – **WITHOUT EXCEPTION**.

- 1. Pursuant to sec. 973.05, Wisconsin Statutes, fines/costs must be paid within 60 days of the conviction date unless otherwise ordered by the court.
- 2. Payments may be made in person, by mail or by debit/credit card on or before the due date. <u>Case number(s)</u> should be included with payments.
 - To make payments online or by phone using a credit or debit card, you may call 1-888-604-7888 or www.GovPayNow.com. You will need the Pay Location Code Number which is 5479. A service fee applies for each transaction.
 - Cash payment must be made in person only.
 - Check or money orders should be made payable to Dane County Clerk of Courts and can be mailed to:

Dane County Clerk of Court's Office Dane County Courthouse 215 S Hamilton St Rm 1000

Madison WI 53703-3285

- **3.** When genuine financial hardship exists and the **total court ordered obligation is \$100 or more**, arrangements for deferred payments may be granted based on adjusted net monthly income. Items required are as follows:
 - Completed Payment Plan Application
 - \$15 payment plan fee to establish and monitor the deferred payment plan
 - Signed Deferred Payment Plan/Agreement if approved
 - A down payment of \$65 (\$50 down payment & \$15 payment plan fee) if the request for payment plan is made past ten days from the case disposition.

Modifications

If your financial status should change substantially while on a Deferred Payment Plan/Agreement, contact a Court Collection Clerk at (608) 266-4311 to inquire about requesting a modification of the plan/agreement. Any modification to the Deferred Payment Plan/Agreement requires your payment plan balance to be current and a reasonable explanation for the request. Second and subsequent modifications require a new \$15 payment plan fee.

Failure to Pay

Failure to make payment on or before the due date may result in one or more of the following actions:

- Suspension of your driving privileges for up to one year (Suspension of your driving privileges is not in lieu of payment.)
- A civil judgment entered against you which accrues interest
- Referral to a collection agency
- Interception of your Wisconsin Income Tax Refund
- Arrest and commitment to the county jail
- For certain DNR violations, your Chapter 29 privileges could be revoked or suspended. DNR privileges in other states can also be revoked.

Address Changes

You must notify the Dane County Clerk of Court's Office if your address changes. Notification must be made <u>in</u> writing within 10 days of the address change. Include your name, new address and case number(s).

If you should have any questions, you may call the Clerk of Court's office at (608) 266-4311.